326205448_718021873183699_1256267201896645185_n (1)

Monday 23rd January, 2023

Victory For Vodafone Fiji National Blitz Champions Rudr And Cydel Terubea

17-year-old Provisional FIDE Master (FM) Rudr Prasad secured the 2023 Vodafone Fiji National Blitz Chess Championship title with an unbeaten score of 11/12, ahead of top-seed Candidate Master (CM) Manoj Kumar who came 2nd with 10/12 and CM Goru Arvind who was 3rd with 9.5/12.

CM Ronald Terubea and Prashant Sarup finished 4th and 5th overall with respective scores of 8/12 and 7.5/12.

The Women's National Blitz Chess Championship title was duly won by Provisional Women's Candidate Master (WCM) Cydel Terubea who amassed 8/12, while Jacquelyn Masilomani came 2nd with 7.5/12. Ex-Olympiad rep WCM Gloria Sukhu settled for 3rd place with 7/12.

"Rudr played fantastic chess with 10 wins and a couple of draws against CM Manoj Kumar and the talented Jacquelyn Masilomani," states General Secretary Goru Arvind. "This is a fine follow-up to his representation in the 44th World Chess Olympiad where he top-scored for Team Fiji with a solid 6/9. He is an inspiration for young chess players who think that veterans are hard to beat."

Courtesy of Vodafone Fiji winners in the tournament received cash prizes, mobile phones, medals and trophies. Head of Recharge and Distribution, Mr. Nilesh Singh who was present for prize-giving.

The Secondary School's Division was won by Lewis Koroi of Gospel High School via tie-break over Makayla Sukhu of Suva Grammar High School who came 2nd since both players tallied a solid 7/12. Upcoming player Zayne Elmond Keshwan of Jai Narayan College clinched 3rd place with 6.5/12, while Ayush Chand of Jai Narayan College finished 4th.

"Overall, it is pleasing to see a lot of youngsters coming to play chess this year," adds Goru Arvind. "Arnav Lal, Phillip Sukhu, Adarsh Maharaj, Kinura Herath, Ryan Kumar, Anisha Eshal Bari and Hrishita Nand are among a host of young players that should improve with more training and experience as we go along."

The Primary School's Division was won by Lionel Vaurasi of Yat Sen Primary School with a score of 6/12 in his first-ever tournament, a feat that also won him the Best Beginner Award. Yash Yuvaan Prasad of Deenbandhoo Primary School complemented his elder brother, Rudr Prasad by coming 2nd with 6/12 on tie-break, while Latileta Masau of Suva Methodist Primary School came 3rd.

Meanwhile, 2023 Oceania Zonal reps CM Taione Sikivou, Provisional WCM Tanvi Prasad, Women's FIDE Master (WFM) Kieran Lyons, Yash Maharaj of The University of the South Pacific and Ryan Lyons are gearing up to play their first match early next week as Fiji reps at Melbourne, Australia.

326205448_718021873183699_1256267201896645185_n (2)

For further information contact:
Media RelationsHead of E-Commerce

Copyright © 2024 Vodafone Fiji.   Privacy Policy  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Sitemap